Sexual Assault Advisory Council

September 18, 2015

Dear colleagues,

Sexual harassment and violence are serious problems that the University of Oregon, as well as all universities in our nation, confronts. On August 4, I announced a series of new policies and investments that I am hopeful will allow our university to become a national leader in combatting this plague. Among those actions is a search for a new associate vice president/Title IX coordinator, as well as the infusion of resources into sexual violence prevention, the investigation of reports of sexual violence, and the resolution of these claims. 

An important part of our effort to address sexual harassment and violence on campus is the new Sexual Assault Advisory Council, which convened for the first time on September 1. This group of faculty, students, staff, alumni, community leaders, and experts will help guide and evaluate our work to end sexual violence and foster a campus culture of safety, respect, and responsibility.

The UO is a large, multifaceted institution, which is why advisory groups like this one will play an important role in my work as president. In appointing members to this council, then Provost Scott Coltrane reached out to a variety of community and campus sources, including the University Senate, and encouraged nominations from our faculty, staff, alumni, students, and the Eugene community. I am grateful that so many passionate and qualified individuals throughout our community have offered their service to address this important issue.

After careful consideration, we have appointed the following individuals:

Caitlin Corona, UO undergraduate student, co-director of the Organization Against Sexual Assault
Col. Lance Englet, professor of Military Sciences, UO ROTC
Sheryl Eyster, associate dean of students
Karen Ford, associate dean of Department of Humanities, professor of English
Ibrahim Gassama, professor of law, University Senate Committee to Address Sexual and Gender Based Violence member
Katie Green, Lane Co District Attorney's office, UO School of Law alumna
Andrea Herrera, graduate teaching fellow, Ph.D. candidate for sociology
Jocelyn Hollander, head of the Department of Sociology, University Senate Committee to Address Sexual and Gender Based Violence member
Susie 'Dee Dee' Kintz, classified staff member in the Department of Human Physiology
Sandra Martinez-Modesto, UO undergraduate student, Fraternity and Sorority Life Sexual Violence Prevention Leadership Board member
Robert McCullum, assistant director of basketball operations
Victoria Ryan, UO School of Law student, clerk in UO Office of General Counsel
Jane Ward, community member, forensic psychologist specializing in treatment of sex offenders
Juwaan Williams, UO undergraduate student-athlete, co-director of the Student Athlete Advisory Committee                        

I have said it before; the University of Oregon will not tolerate sexual assault or sexual violence. All students, faculty, and staff should feel safe from sexual violence, and this university is committed to creating a safe environment to live and learn. Together, with the support of the SAAC, the new associate vice president/Title IX coordinator, and all the dedicated staff and professionals who work for the university, we will work to end sexual assault, sexual violence, and sexual harassment at the University of Oregon.


Michael H. Schill
President and Professor of Law