Support for resolution reaffirming shared values of respect, diversity, equity, and inclusion

To: Campus Community
From: University of Oregon Leadership
Date: November 17, 2016
RE: Support for resolution reaffirming shared values of respect, diversity, equity, and inclusion

We, the president, provost, vice provosts, vice presidents, deans and other leadership of the University of Oregon, are committed to creating an inclusive, welcoming, and equitable learning environment for every member of our academic community.

We value and celebrate the diversity of our students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community members. The university and our academic mission of teaching, research, and service is greatly enriched by our diversity of thought, experience, perspective, culture, and background.

We condemn all forms of discrimination and vow to work actively to protect and support all members of our campus community.

To that end, we support University Senate resolution US16/17-08, “Reaffirming our Shared Values of Respect for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.”

The full text of the senate resolution is as follows:

  1. We are an academic community enriched by the diversity of our students, faculty, staff, and community members. Each individual and group has the potential to contribute in our learning environment. Each has dignity. To diminish the dignity of one is to diminish the dignity of us all.
  1. We oppose discrimination on the basis of race, gender, sexual orientation, religion, or national origin and fight for an equitable and welcoming educational environment in which all can freely and safely learn, discuss, differ, debate, and grow.
  1. We endorse the following statement by the board of directors of the AAU: “A diverse student body adds significantly to the rigor and depth of students’ educational experience. Diversity encourages students to question their own assumptions, to test received truths, and to appreciate the complexity of the modern world.”
  1. We specifically welcome and foster in our midst a multicultural and international community of students and scholars.
  1. We encourage all university leaders and community members to do the following:

5.1. Continue to protect members of our community who have been rendered particularly vulnerable by the bigotry and climate of the recent political campaign

5.2. Speak out loudly and clearly against expressions of racist, sexist, homophobic, transphobic, xenophobic, and other bias, and react promptly and firmly to acts of discriminatory harassment

5.3. Create forums and workshops to raise awareness and promote dialogue on issues of race, sex, and sexual orientation

5.4. Intensify efforts to recruit members of racial minorities on student, faculty, and administrative levels

5.5. Strengthen our curricula to reflect the diversity of peoples and cultures that have contributed to human knowledge and society, in the United States and throughout the world


Michael H. Schill
President and Professor of Law

Scott Coltrane
Provost and Senior Vice President

Yvette M. Alex-Assensoh
Vice President for Equity and Inclusion

Susan Anderson
Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Michael Andreasen
Vice President for Advancement

Doug Blandy
Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Bruce Blonigen
Interim Dean, Charles H. Lundquist College of Business

Matthew Carmichael
University of Oregon Police Chief

David Conover
Vice President for Research and Innovation

Brad Foley
Dean, School of Music Dance

Karen Ford
Senior Associate Dean of Humanities

Lisa Freinkel
Vice Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Studies

Dennis Galvan
Vice Provost for International Affairs

Jane Gordon
Vice Provost for Portland Programs

Kyle Henley
Vice President for University Communications

Darci Heroy
Associate Vice President and Title IX Coordinator

Terry Hunt
Dean, Robert Donald Clark Honors College

Randy Kamphaus
Dean, College of Education

Chris Krabiel
Interim Vice Provost for Information Services and Chief Information Officer

Adriene Lim
Dean of Libraries and Philip H. Knight Chair

Christoph Lindner
Dean, School of Architecture and Allied Arts

R. Kevin Marbury
Interim Vice President for Student Life

W. Andrew Marcus
Tykeson Dean of Arts and Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences

Jamie Moffitt
Vice President for Finance and Administration

Juan-Carlos Molleda
Edwin L. Artzt Dean, School of Journalism and Communication

Michael Moffitt
Dean, School of Law

Melanie Muenzer
Associate Vice President for Academic Administration and Chief of Staff

Rob Mullens
Director, Department of Intercollegiate Athletics

Scott Pratt
Dean, Graduate School

Kevin Reed
Vice President and General Counsel

Nancy Resnick
Chief Human Resources Officer

Brad Shelton
Senior Vice Provost for Budget and Strategic Planning

Hal Sadofsky
Associate Dean of Natural Sciences

Carol Stabile
Acting Associate Dean for Social Sciences

Greg Stripp
Senior Advisor and Chief of Staff, Office of the President

Roger Thompson
Vice President for Student Services and Enrollment Management

Chuck Triplett
Assistant Vice President for University Initiatives and Collaborations

Paul Weinhold
President, University of Oregon Foundation

Angela Wilhelms
University Secretary